A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Memories and Meadows

I had to go out this afternoon to attend a memorial service for an ex colleague. He was a great character, affectionately known by all as 'Pop' and was a key person in my early teaching career. (Many years ago now!) It was very emotional with speeches from his children and grandchildren and I am sure he would have been very proud.

There were lots of other 'old' colleagues there too - probably only a couple of them still teaching. So it was lovely to see so many and nicest of all were the ex pupils for whom this man did so much. Not all 'stars' - many kids who had problems but who were channelled into sport, especially boxing (it was easy to spot them by the broken noses!)
So nice to have a word and a hug with those who perhaps weren't your favourites at the time!

Any way I had to get back to the marking. I noticed coming across the back roads from Thornton that everything was suddenly lush and green. The trees that were hesitant a week ago are now full of leaf. The May blossom is looking wonderful and the meadows that haven't yet been cut are full of wild flowers and tall grass.

Did I get down in a meadow to take this? No it's in our back garden. When I went out for my coffee break this morning I noticed that instead of the daisies and clover I photographed last year -an ants eye view we have a great crop of buttercups.

In another month after we have been away it will probably look like this again!
(I've changed the image here as it wasn't quite in focus but interestingly if you look at it in large you can see the previous one?! You can decide which you like best!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.