Snapberry 4

Last year I was invited, as the local Argyll & Bute MSP, to an exhibition in Lochgilphead of the photographs taken by pupils of Lochgilphead High during their annual "Snapberry" expidition.

Very kindly Caroline Anderson of SNH (who also blips) invited me to come along on this year's outing so today I was at Dunadd ( which I last blipped in January) and then at the Moine Mhor National Nature Reserve with 20 or so S3 pupils taking pictures and finding things out.

This is Cottongrass, or Bog Cotton, pictured on the Moss, as we called such places in Ayrshire when I was growing up. The NNR accounts for 10% of such landscapes left in these islands, so great has been the attrition on bogs from peat extraction and drainage for agriculture.

I have lots of other pictures from the trip which I have put up on my Flickr account .

Many thyanks to all who were involved - it was a fun morning, and I learnt a lot from the initial session with Lorne Gill, the SNH Photographer and from Andrew Campbell's identification of butterlfies !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.