Picket rhymes with Cricket

The perfect segway to mention the cricket :-)

Like many New Zealanders I watched the cricket last night. I tried to do some work with the sound muted but it didn't work. I didn't do a lot of sitting, more pacing, leaving the room, hiding behind the sofa... ;-)

You'll know I don't watch a lot of sport, preferring participation over the hyped up stuff we're served up. I'm glad I did watch it.

Both teams were magnificent, we were just better on the night. It proves a few things.

1. Jessie who?
We've done just fine without a guy many said we couldn't do without, using his cricket ability to excuse his disruptive behaviour. Well done NZ Cricket for applying consequences and sticking to your guns.

2. Humility whether you win or lose speaks volumes.
Both NZ and South Africa showed humility. I found that quite moving. And refreshing in a sport that has displayed awful values at times.

3. Being a genuine team is vital.
What a difference we seeing compared to the trumped up show ponies of the past. They're a pleasure to watch. There is no 'baggage' of  rumours and disrespecful behaviour.

I'm delighted we won and I hope we win on Sunday. But more than the winning, I'm glad we have a team we can be proud of because of how they behave and their attitude.

I think of a couple of parents who could do with reflecting long and hard on the lessons of the Black Caps and New Zealand cricket.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.