Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Braidburn Valley walk

A feeling of accomplishment today (and relief) - last night I finished backing up 1112 journal entries into the Day One app. What a marathon session!

Archie has taken to insisting on being helped back on to the bed after his morning toilet walk and breakfast with JR. This is dangerous, as we both dozed off till 9am this morning. Could have done with that routine in the freezing cold winter mornings, but it was sunny outside and I didn't want to waste it.

I've just about got a different dog walk for every day. Today it was the Braidburn Valley walk. And the bus stops right at the gate! Warm and sunny, we had a great time. Not too many dogs today. One big old lab went into the river, with Archie right behind her. I had the camera ready, but he stopped and just watched as she splashed around for a bit. Good boy.

We met a pit bull type dog. She was friendly at first, then she started getting 'playful', then very rough with wee Arch - almost tossing him into the river with her head! The man eventually grabbed her and Archie was able to rush back to me.

I persisted with the new camera. Sometimes it will say 'the subject is backlit' and multiple exposures taken. All very well if the subject isn't moving like the girls in front of the castle the other day.

Back home on the bus and I mowed the lawns for the first time this year (after I'd spent quite some time trying to remember the combination lock to the shed...)

My knee is playing up. Has been for a few days. Hope it sorts itself before the cruise, or that personal butler is going to wish he was just a butler!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.