Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Day One back up

A quick blip today. It's a screen shot of my iPad showing the Day One app.. I have been most remiss in my commenting of late. The reason is that I'm spending my spare moments backing up all my blip entries. One thing to have come out of blip's troubles is the importance of backing up!

After copying and pasting, laboriously, and being unable to make sense of the many techie methods that people kindly shared, I found Day One. It's a Mac app, and it's a simple, stylish journal, where you can add photos text and music. I wanted to have the whole journal digital, too, not on pages.

There's no 'community' and commenting, awarding stars and such, though you can publish to Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, and Foursquare (not that I even know what half of them are!). And you can publish to a web page where you can invite people to look. It's a good back up. This is just one view - you have a calendar, tags, and can flick through photos full screen. This is the timeline view.

So it's a somewhat laborious process too, but now, two thirds of the way through, I've got it down to a fine art, with short cuts. I've just been back to Tanzania this morning and then I'll be off to Morocco later today.

I've already worked backwards to the arrival of you-know-who...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.