But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Incident Number 834.

I had visit from two heavily tattooed boys in blue today; it was a bit of a bugger as I should have been out cycling today. They arrived asking what they'd come for, apparently, they'd just been given a time and place and told to go from there.

I explained about the incident two days ago: the belligerently aggressive and dangerous driving, the threatened assault and that there was a witness with video evidence. They asked whether I was complaining about the driving or the threat as though I could only make one complaint today, then they lost interest because there were no actual injuries but they did find out that the van owner lived in Glenrothes, about 50 miles away and out of their area of jurisdiction though they said that they would suggest to the Glenrothes force that they might like to go and talk to the driver. I doubt if either happened; I am posting this blip five weeks after the event and I have not had any feedback.

I reported a similar incident (though without a witness or video) to the Bristol police a couple of years ago, two days later they reported back to me about their interview with the driver involved. Both Edinburgh and Bristol are cities that are trying to encourage cycling for routine local transport; for some reason, Bristol is having far more success.

As I wrote this, there was a discussion on the radio between a civilian, who entraps paedophiles and then reports them to the police, and a spokeswoman for the police. The latter did not give a good account of herself and didn’t approve of the former but, the telling moment was when she conceded that the police don’t have the time to investigate paedophilia!

In the interests of fairness, I didn't like the civilian either.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.