Mrs Happy

By Riwaka7

Meet the Goldfinch family

A week ago today I was down at the estuary when my mobile phone rang. It was the hospital to say my sister had had a heart attack 36 hours after her hip operation and was in ICU. The rest of the day was a blur as we let her family know, went to the hospital, and some difficult decisions had to be made. Rachel knew her heart was not in good condition but neither could she live with the pain of a hip that was totally eaten away. So she took the chance and it didn't come off. She passed away peacefully late in the afternoon after weighing up all options and deciding her quality of life was not going to be of a standard she could live with.
The rest of the week has been all about family and friends and farewells.
I will be back blipping for the days I missed but today I felt like going back to the estuary and I found the goldfinch family busy feeding on the grass seeds. Here they are having an outing at the beach.
I haven't seen them there before so obviously this is their time.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.