Reclaimed

On the return journey from Suffolk I often pass by a Reclamation Yard which houses all the bits and pieces taken out of 'period' properties.  It is a fascinating place with everything you could possibly want in various stages of disrepair - tile, fire places, statues, stone decorations, staircases, wood panelling.  You could find pretty much anything you wanted assuming you have the property to put it in and, in most cases, quite a lot of money.  You would end up with the genuine 'period' item which many feel is absolutely necessary.

Today, on my way home from visiting my mother and brother, I decided to stop by - an ideal opportunity to catch a more unusual blip for Derelict Thursday and make a change from the usual shed !  It was hard to decide, from the many items I photographed, which one to blip but I have settled for the bust of this chap .He looked so forlorn up on his plinth in the cold and wet morning - definitely in need of reclamation!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.