Seeing the Point

I was driving from my home to visit my mother in Suffolk. As it is Wide Angle Wednesday I was on the look out for a blip with a point to it.  I chose to take a route which had more photographic opportunity than my usual one (which has speed in its favour). This took me through the town of Leighton Buzzard which happens to have a church with a tall spire......now that's something with a point!

The church is dedicated to All Saints and has a 190 ft spire and some outstanding medieval ironwork and roofs "aflutter" with carved angels gifted in the mid 15th century by Alice de la Pole, Countess of Suffolk and grand daughter of Geoffrey Chaucer. It has been described as the cathedral of South Bedfordshire and is probably the finest church in the county. Dating from 1277 it is the second church on the site. Such an old structure requires constant attention through its Preservation Trust.

All Saints was severely damaged by fire in 1985 just as a restoration programme was nearing completion. The fire destroyed most of the nave and chancel roofs and caused serious structural damage to the tower, spire, and the vestry areas and a number of the windows were damaged beyond repair. The ring of ten bells was lost as were both the organs. The total cost of the damage exceeded £1.5 million (US$2.4 million). Within 24 hours of the blaze the congregation had begun its second restoration programme in as many years. The 15th century roofs, described as the church’s tour de force, have been repaired and the fine carvings of angels and saints which adorned them have been repaired or replaced. The spire has been stitched and relined with fresh stone. The tower has been stabilised with a massive internal ring beam.

Looking up at the spire towering over the town the point of this beautiful building, I decided that this would be my blip for today!

The theme for next week's MonoMonday will be PATTERNS. The tag will be mm61 and my last as host for March. Maybe I will be invited to do another month in the future.  My 5 hearts for mm60 go to Veronica, Lippinfou, Xtoffdav, Ingeborg and Squatbetty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.