AND THERE SHE WAS....

the little mouse, first peeping from the stones and not being afraid of me, although I think we had not been introduced before, she sat looking at her left, then at her right. I think she could hear the click of my camera and wondered what that sound could be. No, of course not, she was wondering where all the birds had gone and if it was permitted to eat a bit of oat.
I stayed and watched for quite a while. Tomorrow I will travel and I miss this little creature already.
Piet Hein will stay for some days here, knowing that Mischa loves to spend some days with me alone, arranging things in her rooms, making plans for the painting of the kitchen perhaps.
In the afternoon we walked along the Weser, as far as we reached the meadow where the sheep are. A rather grey day all the time.
We followed the latest news of the crash of the aircraft in the French Alps, and were terribly shocked, of what we learned. Totally  beyond our comprehension.
The duck in my picture of yesterday was much admired, I am thankful for the lovely comments, stars and heart, will hurry now to reach you all., I will miss the ducks at the border of the Weser too for a while.
They are such a strange lot. Even when the harbour was still filled with water, a lot of them came to the river. At one shore there is the camping and that means food, and at the other side they have a paved area where they sit, walk, quarrel and fly to and fro,
So different their behaviour from the ones I see at the ponds in The Hague.

My haiku:

Will you be still there?
Lots of mice travel nowadays
Or that is what I heard

And the proverb:

Your tongue runs nineteen to the dozens.

1785  in Grose, Dict. Vulg.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.