Heart Songs

A day of gifts and a gift of a day.  

Some of my most  talented beloved musicians performed in a lunchtime concert including this young man (terrible quality quick snap) playing Liszt Liebestraum No 3 in Ab major.  We also had French ("Ne Me quitte pas" by Jacques Bre), German, Polish, Turkish and English music in two performances to a crowded room and appreciative audience.  Afterwards colleagues from the foreign languages department gave me the prettiest bouquet as a thank you gift for organising this event as part of their 'international languages day'.  The greatest gift however, were the memorable words said to me later by this lovely Liszt playing lad.  Heart swell.  

"It is the supreme art of the teacher to awaken joy in creative expression and knowledge." - Albert Einstein

It had been previously suggested that after this afternoon's department meeting  that we Art teachers should celebrate both my recent birthday and Alex's birthday which is today, with a selection of beverages in a nearby bar. Thus we walked - helping me to reach and exceed my daily target of 10,000 steps - to a very suitable and local location in nearby Kuruçeşme.  I have never been there before - there is a beautiful view of the Bosphorus, magnificently reflected in their exorbitant drinks prices, but hey, once a decade, who cares?  In the middle of a nice time, it was such a lovely surprise when a few sips into my beverage several more friends-colleagues arrived to swell the celebration - secretly prearranged apparently - and we all delighted in the gift of joy in each other's company as we laughed our way towards evening.

Love to all that touched my life today and made my heart sing. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.