Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Wetland

It doesn't look much, but this wetland is a new special place for me. Yet another spot close to where we live, and which I've only just discovered after chatting to a bird-watcher. It's an old gravel pit, but unlike the one close by that's been turned in to a boating and fishing lake, this one has been left as a bird sanctuary. I saw shoveler ducks and pochards (not blipped because a bit far off) and heard birds in the reeds that I have yet to identify. Circling above I saw what I thought were a pair of buzzards but on closer inspection through the binoculars I could see they were osprey on their way northwards migration.

They're not alone in hearing the call to northern waters. Time to be packing again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.