Reed Beds around Eling

One of the coldest and dullest days of the winter. I forced myself out.

Bus to Totton and then, wishing to reacquaint myself with an old Tide Mill that Des and I drove to many many years ago, walked the two miles or so to the village of Eling.

The Tide Mill was working, grinding flour from grain, when Des and I visited and paid for a tour. Times have changed. Being way out of season, it was closed to visitors, which did not surprise me (this was a recce expedition). It seems that the Mill has only just stopped working, I think due to a breakdown in a part that would require fundraising to replace. Anyway, I want to return in the summer when it's not blood-thickening cold and when it's sunny and looking pretty!

So, what you get for now is a rather nice study of when the sun almost came out, reflected in the water in reed beds close to the Mill. The teeny Tamron SP 17-50mm f2.8 gives a nicely sharp rendition and colour balance to all those reeds. A small aperture assures depth of field from front to back.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.