Adam's Images

By ajt

Green Alkanet

This is green alkanet (Pentaglottis sempervirens) it has been smirking at me on my way to an from work for weeks. I've tried to capture it many times, but the tiny blue flowers need enough light and no wind or all you end up with is a fuzzy blur. Today I used the Super Macro mode which I have no idea what it does (it normally looks pants) but today it's done a good jobs and the result is plants.

Humdrum sort of day at work, not bad but not brilliant. I moved some changes to some code I wrote 8 years ago in the test environment today. Nothing exciting about that per se but it's nice to see my old code is readable and changeable after all those years. Most people don't care what they write, it's just gets the job done and they are never around when it needs changing or fixing. I like elegant code, I like to read well and run well and even the bits you can't see should be nice. I am often around when things break so I've spent a lot of my professional career fixing other people's sloppy code.

I've just started another batch of rhubarb on the way to jamming - which should be a finished tomorrow with lots of ginger in it. I first soak chopped rhubarb in fair-trade sugar and lemon juice overnight before I start the jamming process in the pan.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.