Kerry Day 3: Rossbeigh Strand

Today's forecast was atrocious - less atrocious in the morning so we sallied forth for Rossbeig - an amazing spit of sand that sticks out into the sea and nearly joins with Inch Beach on the Dingle peninsula. The rain was light as we arrived but it looked amazing and oddly we had it almost to ourselves. A rather sad incident though. Siding the beach are large sand dunes and after a while Himself noticed that high up on a small sheltered ledge was a little lamb - stuck. I had to go up there and see what I could do. I fear he may have been there for sometime but there was no way he could up or down. I had to trample the sand down with my feet to try and get to him. I managed to lift him up and place  him on top of the cliff. He looked down at me for a moment and then disappeared. I was worried though for there was no mummy bleating at him, in fact no sign of anything. 
We continued and passed the shipwrecked remains of the Sunbeam, much photographed and very scenic. As we went round the top of the spit the weather went beserk - we were lashed by winds, sleets, rain. I  have never been so wet and it was a long and cold walk back to the car. I had only brought one pair of jeans with me and had to go into a draper's in Cahersiveen where the lady took one look at me and exclaimed 'God love you!!' and found me a pair of thermal leggings- perfect!!
Day 1
Day 2
Day 4
Kerry album

It's Ballydehob traditional music festival weekend and we're off to see De Dannan tonight - proper catch up tomorrow (saturday).
De Dannan - Here Comes the Sun ( I wish, it's grey and dreary).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.