Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Catkins

One of the things I love to see in the depths of winter is a Twisted Hazel. The contorted branches take forms which I have always found very pleasing. I helped my father plant one in the garden many years ago and every time I go back to Dundee, I like to study how the form has changed with time. 

I was picking up my niece from East Sussex last year. As I was early I dropped into a Nursery which had caught my eye.  That's always dangerous!  I came out with far more than I should have, broke the bank again and there was almost no space left in the car for the baby!   

I found a new variety of Twisted Hazel called Majestic Red. It's leaves were a dark copper red and I was promised very attractive red catkins in the Spring. How could I resist?  
At the moment the whole plant's less than a couple of foot high so I wasn't expecting much of a show but, as a taster for the future, there are a number of these beautiful catkins hanging on it's contorted twigs. 

I can't wait for the plant to grow now!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.