Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

White Peacock

I really wanted something more exciting than a butterfly today, but nature wasn't working with me.  After I dropped Peg and Kura at the airport (our three days together went WAY too fast) I stopped at Lake Seminole to see if I could find...something.  Well, the clouds were rolling in, the light was terrible and I just wasn't feeling the magic.  Finally, I hunkered down near some reeds in the pond (after first ascertaining the whereabouts of the rather large gator who lives in that pond) and started snapping shots of dragonflies.  That's always fun for me.  

I chatted a bit with some people who were vacationing here from Ohio, including a little boy of about 3 who told me that he liked dragons and spiders and alligators - I told him that I quite agreed with him, I liked them too.  The father was trying to get pics of the alligator (who was really too far out by then for good shots) so I told them how to get to Largo Nature Preserve where they should be able to get a good, close up look at "Big Bertha" (my name for the big gator who hangs in the pond there).  My good deed for the day.  

I posted four other shots starting HERE on Flickr with a gator in the lilies.  The last two shots are of both male and female Boat-tailed grackles, a common bird in Florida, but one I won't be seeing in NJ.  I thought about blipping one of them, but decided on this White Peacock since I won't be seeing them in NJ either.  Plus, the peacocks are really such lovely butterflies, so photogenic.

Back home, lunch with hubs, trip to Home Depot to pick up MORE boxes and packing paper. Then laundry and packing.  I'm missing having the girls here - we had such a wonderful time these past few days.  Florida put on a good show for them with birds, gators, powdery sandy beaches and beautiful sunny skies.  Hard to think that I will be seeing Kura again next weekend when she comes out to NJ to help me unpack!  

Apologies for my lack of comments - things are just crazy now as moving day races towards us.  Please know that I read and enjoy each and every comment you leave.  Thank you.

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.