Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Seriously, dude, get OFF my head!!

Another wonderfully fun day with my two "besties", Kura and Peg.  We visited the raptor center this morning and were treated to close encounters with some of their beautiful birds, including a red-tailed hawk and great horned owl.Then off to have Cuban sandwiches for lunch.  Then, we headed south and ended up at Fort DeSoto so they could see pelicans.

And, the pelis sure gave us a show!  They were diving and gliding and doing all the things pelicans do.  After each dive, they'd surface to find one or more Laughing Gulls circling their heads, trying to steal a morsel of food.  As you can see in this shot, the gulls are bold enough to land right on the pelican's head where they'll hang on precariously, flailing about and being thoroughly annoying  amusing.

Watching these antics never ceases to make me laugh, so I kind of knew one of these shots would be today's blip.  Plus, I'll always remember how delighted Kura and Peg were to see the pelicans.  I posted 11 other shots from today on Flickr, starting HERE with one of the five bottle-nosed dolphins we saw.  A very fun day...

We opted for pizza on the deck tonight - simple and easy.  I'll be taking them to the airport tomorrow morning - sad to see them go, but knowing I'll be seeing Kura again next weekend in New Jersey.  

Five more sleeps...  Good grief, where did the time go???

I'll try to get back to some comments tomorrow.  Hoping all is well in Blipland...

Debbi, signing off from Florida

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.