Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Single and Blue, seeking same

It seems like this male bluebird is visiting one or more of the bluebird boxes every day now, but he is always alone.  He sits on the roof and sings a bit, then up into a tree for more singing, then he flies off.  I have to think he's quite a catch for some lucky lady bluebird - he's a heavenly shade of blue (no editing here, those colors needed no enhancement) and he also has a lovely voice.  Well, hopefully he'll find a mate and return to start a nest.  

I got a new toy today - I found a Nikon 1.7 teleconverter on eBay and was able to get it at a very good price.  It arrived today and I immediately attached it to the 300 prime and D750.  It makes the lens effectively a 500 mm f/6.7 lens, which is quite nice for birds and wildlife.  It seems to still give me crisp shots - this one suffered a bit from a heavy crop, but I posted another shot of a woocpecker, HERE.  Only a slight crop on that, not even equivalent to DX, and the detail is good.  I'm a happy bunny!

The Tinies also came out to play...they insisted on "helping" me with some gardening.  It was a hot mess and at one point, Beauregard fell into a hyacinth and I nearly never got him out.  The Tinies were beside themselves, as you can well imagine.  However, we managed to get the little photographer out, cleaned up, and back into his apartment with no real harm done.  They've been begging me to let them do something for Easter tomorrow...alas, who am I to argue.  

Just some miscellaneous observations from the yard today, more of historic significance for me than probably of any real interest to you...
- A phoebe continues to sing and hunt insects in the yard - dare I hope it finds a place to nest somewhere on our property?
- The song sparrow that showed up about 10 days ago is still here and visits the water and suet throughout the day.
- No more signs of the bear - for now
- Chickadees are spending a lot of time investigating the nest box nearest the wood shed - fingers crossed.
- Had a grackle skulking around today - he wouldn't pose for pictures though
- Squirrels and chipmunks having a field day in the lower part of the yard where all the acorns are still sitting from last fall.  
- Juncos are singing and sparring with one another - they'll be leaving soon


TTFN, people
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.