Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Worms - not just for breakfast anymore

...and not just for the early birds, either.  I shot this during the afternoon as a pair of robins were working their way slowly closer to where I was crouched in the garden.  This female got to within 20 feet of me, which is pretty unusual for robins in this area.  My neck, hands and legs were cramped by the time she finally spooked and flew - but I got some cool shots so it was worth it.  I think.  She proved to be an excellent hunter, easily taking 10 worms in the 20 minutes or so that I watched her.  Definitely the best series of "robin eating worm" shots I've gotten to date. 

If you are interested, some other shots on Flickr...
worm-toss, with a bit of tongue
Junco, flashing his white tail feathers
Cowbird, waiting for a nest...

I was planning to blip the Tinies today...but the robins were just too tempting.  However, if you need a Tiny People fix, I'll post the best of my morning efforts in Extra.  Our intrepid Tiny Photographers found themselves in a sewing factory, of all things...

Hubs is feeling better today - thank goodness.  Definitely allergies.  

Thank you so very much for sending my mama squirrel to the Pops page.  I must say that it is one of my personal favorite shots - maybe because watching the whole thing really made me feel uncharacteristically emotional.  Anyway, thank you - for the comments, hearts and stars.  I saw mama leaving her new nest hole in the tree this morning - she scampered to a nearby branch and gave herself a good washing and primp.  I did learn after some reading that it is not uncommon for female tree squirrels to move their babies one or more times - in fact, some prepare several nests ahead of time, which is no doubt what this one did.  Things that can cause a mother to move her young is threat from predators or fleas.  Yes, fleas.  Interesting.  Anyway, hopefully she'll keep them in this location until they leave the nest, which should be in about a month.  Stay tuned...

Happy Good Friday, people.

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.