Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Those eyes!

I am doing something I've ever only done once - I am replacing the original photo that I chose yesterday for my blip.  I decided that I really like this close up of the Anhinga in breeding plumage better than the young herons.  My apologies for those who already left stars !

I took Kura and Peg over to Lake Seminole today, hoping to spot a gator (we did).  The bonus was seeing that the heron colony in the big pine tree in the lake now has babies!  Yes, these are the same heron's I blipped in mid-February - back when the adults were defending their prime nesting spots.  Fast forward and now the air is filled with the distinctive cries of baby herons begging for food.    Kura and Peg took turns  watching the action through the binoculars while I snapped pics with Big Daddy.

We continued on to Largo Nature preserve where they got a very close up look at a large gator who hangs out there - a foolish person could have reached out and touched her.  No foolish people in our group.  Anyway, both ladies were busy snapping cell phone pics and ooohing and awwwwing over the abundance of wildlife.  IT has been such a joy to share a bit of "my" Florida with two of my very best friends.  

Tonight we are off to John's Pass for a walk on the beach and dinner...and wine, of course.  Tomorrow they want to see Pelicans and wood stork, and I've also promised them a trip to the raptor center.  

Keeping it short.  And forgive my lack of comments - spending time with friends is first!  Thanks for all the comments and hearts - you guys all rock.

Debbi

PS:  Don't miss today's six other favorite shots starting here with a face only a mother could love

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.