Resurrection Eggs

Egg hunts, chocolate bunnies, and Easter baskets are all fine as long as the true Easter story is the focus. After Moira opened all her plastic eggs filled with various candies from her preschool Easter egg Hunt, I let her open some very different types of eggs.....the Resurrection eggs. The first egg contains a small donkey that Jesus rode on for his triumphal entry into Jersuleum. There are a dozen eggs to help a child see , touch and hear the story of Easter. After opening all the eggs and telling the story two times, Moira told me that she would like to tell me the story. So I sat back and listened. I was amazed at how quickly she learned each part of the story through these eggs. When she got to the next to the last egg, inside it was a stone, to represent the stone that was rolled in front of Jesus's tomb. She very carefully told me that this very large and heavy stone was rolled in front of Jesus's Easter Egg to stop anyone from taking his body. I had to be very careful not to laugh at the mistake of calling the tomb an Easter egg, because when she opened the last egg, she threw up her hands and cried Hallelujah, He is Risen, the egg is empty!!!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.