Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By cdsvfdcs

Are they back?

Every time we come to the island I look for sea stars ( starfish)..they were almost entirely gone last summer due to what has now been identified as a virus (which likes the warmer and maybe more acidic ocean temps-).  Occasionally we see a few come and go.   This is encouraging, and worthy of recording..  there are maybe 25 around the pilings for our wharf and dock. (4 in the photo)   I can’t get to the rocks where I “officially” counted and documented them - the tides aren’t at the right time. didn't see any on on our beach this afternoon at a  4.0 tide...
Here's the background blip on this disease.


Was thinking “fill the frame” for my blip challenge today and was close to posting the bonfire we had on the beach this afternoon doing more clean up.  Very fun.  I do like fires.   (will post on flickr when I get to it….don’t know where the time goes….:-)  )  And a morning walk with my island friend C  (sometime blipper Islandcat - maybe she’ll come back…maybe not,  she’s about to see how retirement fits…) this morning completed a lovely day!   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.