My heritage

I went for a drive  to the village of Lane End, Bucks today armed with some of my family history notes. I think this is the house that my great grandfather lived in (in 1871) and where my grandfather and his 6 brothers were born. I say 'think' because on the census there are no house numbers, or even street names really,  but I have worked my way out from the church and come up with about 5 possible houses. The clincher is that this house is called 'blacksmiths cottage' and I know they were both blacksmiths. I could be completely wrong though!

I have desaturated it a bit to make it look older but actually the condition and colour of those red bricks and flint are remarkable for their age. There is a  date of 1863 marked in the brickwork.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.