Off Centre

By RachelCarter

Return of the good things

A long while back, I started adding a list of Five Good Things to my journal entries. 
It was a way of brightening dark days because it reminded me that however bad a day had been I still had a lot to be grateful for and to be happy about. 

Today has been pants. A run of insomnia is now making it difficult to put one foot in front of the other and just about every small thing I've attempted to do today has gone wrong. The weather has been appalling and has ripped out the crop cages I started making yesterday, and it's going to be days before it will be gardening weather again. We badly need some good weather now not just so I get outside and get my soil fix, but because our business depends on it. 

I still can't shake the sad feeling about something that happened earlier this week and I can't see an end to it. So I know I have to distract myself but I can't because I'm shattered and am struggling to think straight. 

I stopped doing the five good things because however much it helped me, I was worried it could have been making me look smug. Instead of an attempt to cheer myself up I thought it might look like a list of how brilliant I am.
Who wants to see a list of how brilliant someone's life is? 

Well. I need to do Five Good Things again today. So here's what's keeping me going and what I'm grateful for today:

1.My lovely husband
2.Film-watching with our 10-year-old
3.Cups of tea
4.White camellias starting to flower in the garden
5.Clean sheets on the bed (when I've put them on that is!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.