"With White Neck Peering To The Evening Cloud"

My aviator son made an unexpected visit from Spain this weekend. He'd come to the UK to attend a course and was en route when the terrible germanwings incident happened. He has been able to explain the technicalities to us.

I was standing on the bridge over Seventy Acres Lake as this swan approached. It flew underneath and kept on flying. Plenty of aggro between the busking cobs.

I asked my son if its flared webbed feet could be considered to be equivalent to flaps on an aircraft. After some discussion we decided that they are its undercarriage. He thinks that, though the swan intended to fly on, its feet naturally prepare for landing when it gets close to the surface of the water.

A quite appropriate image as my son has been to The Swan care home to visit his grandmother this afternoon.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.