Another Nail...

When the daughter was a young girl, my Dad bought her a bird table for her birthday which stood in the back garden for many years. She's now living away, and over the years the table has suffered from the vicissitudes of the weather (vicissitude - there's a word). So today, the remains of the table were chopped into firewood. The very act pained me so much more than it ought to have done - what a sentimental old fool I'm becoming. Another link with the old man gone.
To more cheerful matters!
The daughter didn't get a bird table this year, but one thing she did get was a meal down at L'escargot Bleu. Where the ever lovely Sophie is noo maître d. And then we did perambulate onwards to meet her young man who was loitering in the Cumbie; there are worse places to loiter. I think he may have been loitering in there for some time, if you get my drift.
Now.. what have I missed out? Was there by any chance a party in the afternoon? There was! By ‘eck, the rafters in the Diggers were raised.
So, that's the season over. Now we can settle back to watch the wee team bottle it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.