Jimmy

I had a dreadful night's (lack of) sleep last night - too much stuff churning around in my head. The upside was that I heard much of the cricket final from the first ball at 04:15 and having got up at 05:30 I managed to get a good deal of domestics out of the way. When my head is full I go for a drive so off I toddled and ended up - as I generally do - at the coast. I stopped in Dymchurch to take some photos of the funfair which was being set up for the day. A real victory of hope over experience as the weather is dreadful; squally rain was keeping everyone indoors. After taking a couple of photos I was wandering up the High Street to check out the beach when a voice called me back. 

Jimmy suggested that I take some photos of the Martello tower and I explained that it was difficult as there are loads of buildings around that particular one and it would be lost in the clutter. We then settled into a chat and he mentioned fishing. I told him about the shot I used the other day of the guys on the beach at Hythe and he told me about going out on the boats. I've been long-lining and when I mentioned Whitby we started talking about mackerel. When they are running the fishermen don't catch them; they near enough throw themselves on the boat. I told him that I post a picture on the web each day and he said he knew about fishing nets but nothing about the Internets; but he was happy for me to take a portrait. 

A brief encounter, an exchange of stories and names, and on we go.

I will get you a Martello tower because, as you well know, I love you all - even that shifty looking bloke at the back. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.