Tennyson in the Rain!

It was chucking it down this morning when I woke up, and has done so, more on than off, most of the day. 

Still I didn't fancy being cooped up in the house so I took my camera and went out for a walk, up through the Arboretum, towards the Cathedral and back down the hill into town and then home! 

I stopped and had breakfast in Cafe Nero, and watched people walking around in the rain sometime too.

I chose this shot of the statue of the poet Tennyson that stands in the grounds of the cathedral to be my Blip. Tennyson was born in Lincolnshire, and this statue  was created by his frien George Watts. It holds a flower in its hand, and a verse of his poem, Flower in the crannied wall is engraved on a plaque on the plinth. He stands with Karenina, his dog. It's thought that the dog was added to give the statue stability, as it had previously collapsed during creation and Watts had to start all over again! 

I took too long doing this and also had to start again as it timed out, so I know how annoying that must have been! Just what is the point of that timing-out thing?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.