Nuthatch checking the terrain

It has rained much of the day and we have been lolling about in holiday mode as Helena doesn't have to go to work for two more weeks. Yay.

I have been trying to upload pictures of disc golf from Friday onto the local disc golf group's Facebook page and as usual hating having anything to do with that place.  But it is where people congregate so I must bite the bullet.

The light was rather poor with the irregular rain showers late this afternoon.  I went to top up the bird feeders and  having failed to get any other photos, I took my camera with me.  The birds seemed very happy to find fresh stocks of food in abundant supply again.  This nuthatch was one of the first to arrive on the rhus tree from which we hang the bird feeders.  After one visit it returned but didn't seem too concerned to take any more food.  It stood on this branch for several minutes, occasionally looking at me and then it flew away possibly to inform its mate about the food.  

Within a couple of minutes there was an invasion of blackcaps, blue tits, bullfinches and some goldfinches.  But my best picture of a poor bunch was of the nuthatch.  I wish I could get some of them in the sunshine; I expect it won't be long before the weather turns and there are young birds needing to be shown how to feed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.