CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Millar-Howard offices at St Mary's Mill

At lunchtime I drove up the valley towards Chalford to meet Thomas M. who is one of the two owners of this architect practice.  I met them recently when they gave a talk to the South West Association of Preservation Trusts about the use of virtual reality to demonstrate their designs to clients.  In conversation afterwards I mentioned my friend John who produces 3D photographic images from nature often at a microscopic level. It seemed obvious that they should meet to share their skills and interests.

So today I took Thomas to John's house and we had a great time looking at their various creations and thinking about how they might be developed further. It was interesting that today the goggles that Thomas uses to demonstrate the virtual tours was officially launched worldwide.  they are called the Oculus Rift and I wouldn't be surprised if you hear about them more and more.  It may take some time but they are quite amazing, when you are looking at something interesting. 

When i arrived to pcik up Thomas he was busy for a couple of minutes so I asked if I could take a few pictures of their offices.  they use the op floor of St Mary's Mill, sited beside the River Frome between Brimscombe and Chalford. I have blipped the building before  but not in this part of the building, so it was very interesting to see how they have converted the space in offices.  I love this space.

St. Mary's Mill water wheel

A derelict part of St. Mary's Mill, Chalford

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.