The Railway Bridge over the Stream

The weather was very dispiriting today, sleet pouring out of a grey sky and a wind throwing the tree tops about.  However, after an idle morning I suddenly felt I couldn’t sit around any more. I dug out my waterproofs (not needed since the autumn) donned my boots and set off into the storm.
I walked along the disused railway to this bridge over a stream.  It’s 3,2 km away so it neatly fits my aim of 6 km-a-day. The track was mostly covered in snow, flattened by snow scooters, so it made a good walking surface.
The bridge makes me think of wild west films. It’s built on a metal trestle with the sleepers laid on top so you can look down through then directly to the stream.  Not the sort of railway bridge I grew up with in London! 
I did the walk in 1 hr 15 minutes which is reasonable considering the conditions and shows my fitness program seems to be having the desired effect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.