The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

Rambles

I went to the University of Florida Agricultural Extension Service office to get some information on restoring a beat up lawn without resorting to nasty chemicals and pesticides. Since they are located in the welcome building at the Botanical Gardens here in Largo I saw this "pretty weed" (a variety of Begonia according to the sign) by the entrance. Obviously I wanted to take a pic for my blip but didn't have my camera with me since I knew I didn't have the time for a photo stroll, so I used my cell phone instead. This made me think about how much phones have changed since I was a kid, which led me to remember that my mother had been an overnight operator at the telephone exchange in Pascoag Rhode Island after my Dad was injured in the woods and hospitalized, which made me remember our old phone at the farm ( big, clunky, and black with no dials or buttons) on a three party line (we were two rings), which made me remember our telephone number 365J, which made me smile at the irony because that was more than 60 years ago and today I can't even remember the number of my cell phone, which made me think of taking this pic with my smartphone, which made me think about .... 

Whew, I think I need a nap .... and the adventure continues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.