Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Keep Calm and Eat Cake

The above is one of my erstwhile team's mottos...  When the going gets tough in the BBC Radio Factual Studio Manager team, the tough get chomping.  Cake is the universal panacea.

This particularly spectacular one was presented to me at lunchtime today, my last day on the staff at the BBC, by my teammates.  It was made by the ultra-talented Gayl, who is not only brilliant at baking and cake decoration, but is the coolest bass player I've ever seen and a gifted sound engineer to boot.  Gayl says she used 1lb of chocolate in the cake.  Needless to say there is not much of it left, though I've put the small amount that remains in the fridge for one of the team to have tomorrow.  He was off to the dentist this afternoon, and didn't feel he ought to clag up his teeth with chocolate sponge and raspberry pips before his check-up.

I feel somewhat bereft tonight.  I'm going to miss the weekly contact with all my lovely workmates so much.  And the tea-drawer treats.  But somehow I don't think my body is going to miss the calories.....  ;-)


PS:  Check out the lovely photo my friend Cheryl took of me and our mutual friend Philippa at my retirement party on Friday evening!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.