Snakeshead Fritillary....

..... a sinister little flower, in the mournful colour of decay
Vita Sackville West


A seriously wild night with mega gusts coming from the north west. The wind has continued into today mingled with a bit of sunshine. Most of the daffs are flattened but the little fritillaries are hanging on in there. I just love how they appear - one moment there just seems to be a blade of grass and then the next the heads appear in all their snakiness. I have dark purple, one and white ones too. I love them, sinister or not!

Thank you for all the responses to queries re Derelict Thursday, and a special thank you to those of you who offered to help out. After much deliberating  SarumStroller and I have decided to put the challenge on hold until October which, to quote him, will give me time to take an outdoor daily swim, walks trillions of miles and posts the most wonderful countryside Blips. I wish!! He will also be busy lurking around hillforts, watching the sun rise in unlikey places, indulging in a spot of midnight rambling and leaping on buses for additional exploration! 

There will be one more DT this Thursday so do join me - pass it on!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.