The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

170 dots for 170 days

Today is my 170th and final day in South East Asia. I fly to Brisbane, Australia just before midnight tonight.

Leaving my job, friends, family and whole life behind back in October was a huge decision but one I'd been wanting to make for the last few years. It's the biggest and best decision I've ever made. The fantastic places I've been to, the adventures I've had, the delicious food I've eaten and most importantly, the amazing people I've met along the way!

For months I've been thinking about getting a tattoo to symbolise my trip and always remind me of it. Even if I come back to Asia really soon, it will still be these 170 days that mean the most. They represent the huge change I made in my life. I spent a long time thinking of a tattoo design that was original and had meaning. I talked it through with friends and finally came up with a design of 170 dots, each representing one specific day of my trip. They are in columns with each column signalling a change of country.

I really wanted to get it done by traditional bamboo rather than machine, so I did some research and found a place in Bangkok to get it done today, day 170. I love it! Oh and this isn't an April Fool's joke... Sorry Dad!

I'm going to continuing with my Blipfoto entries but I've made a website and video especially for these 170 days: http://170days.com

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.