Truly Blippin' Marvelous

By JohnEdward

Falling

down.

       Think of this as a failed experiment.  My thinking went something like this:  'Down' &  'up' are ideas that tell us our relationship to Earth. 'Down' goes towards the centre of the Earth; 'up' takes us away from  Earth into space.  At what point (when there is no gravity?) does it become nonsense to think of 'up' or 'down'?  There has to be a point of reference. Archimedes is reputed to have said δῶς μοι πᾶ στῶ καὶ τὰν γᾶν κινάσω.  give me a place to stand and I shall move the earth.  I thought of imagining myself in space and just pointing the camera and calling the resulting image looking down.  I really needed an assistant to throw or drop balls for me.  My space is sandy and is weedy.  My camera was pointed to the centre of the earth therefore I was looking down in the conventionally accepted sense.  The balls were airborne (which is why they are not in focus).  Well that was fun.  what shall I do for the rest of the day?

       EDIT:  Play with this idea some more to get an image I really like - and this time I stayed at home out on the deck dropping balls.  I chose this one because I also caught the shadows of the balls.

       LATER still:  Long lunch at Booga Red's then a walk along a wind-blown path at Becker Lake.  I little shopping and picking up mail on the way home.  Now catching up with Blip again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.