Wednesday: Orange Against Orange

I didn't feel quite well enough to venture back to work so it has been another duvet day today, with Fred on my lap for company.  Fortunately, things are pretty quiet at work this week so I don't feel too guilty.  I'll be heading back tomorrow though.

There is something about duvet days that means that only black and white films will do.  Today's choice was 'Goodbye, Mr Chips' which makes me sniffle, no matter how many times I watch it.  I also think I might have a little crush on Greer Garson.

I started reading 'Sylvia Plath: Letters Home' today and sniffed loudly when I read this line to her mother: 'One thing about sinus - if you feel like a depressive maniac when you have it, there is a renaissance of life when you can breathe again'.  I bought the book at a second hand stall a little while ago so it is pre-loved.  The only sentence the previous owner ('Suzana Gomersic, London, August 1982' - according to the scribble in the front) underlined was 'I just can't stand the idea of being mediocre'.  I really hope Suzana never felt mediocre - I am sure she wasn't.........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.