Plus ça change...

By SooB

It's right there

Was something I said often today...

Earlier, up early after a rubbish sleep to see TallGirl off the premises. Then back to bed to finally see off the book that I think I can blame for at least some of the very disturbing dreams that have been keeping me wakeful in the wee small hours (Zone of Interest, Martin Amis). Perhaps I should have read the reviews first.

Anyway, that extraordinary and horrifying book is behind me and tonight I can anaesthetise my brain with some nonsense and sleep the sleep of the folk who don't know about bad things.

After shopping (with CarbBoy's Wednesday shopping treat having delightfully moved on from chocolatine to grissini) home with two giggling girls from school (giggling about how their whole English lesson had been spent singing Easter songs IN FRENCH with their super-religious English teacher - who actually can't speak English. Obviously that doesn't really matter for TallGirl, but I'm still very happy that that teacher is retiring.)

And then to tackle our wifi.... The goal was to make the new office fully functional with its own working wifi box. This morning two boxes were working. By the end all three should have been working. By 5pm (4 hours of work) one box was working. Taxi and dinner duties intervened, but it wasn't until 8pm that this morning's service levels were restored...

There was much shouting at the Mac today. "It's right there" and "What do you mean you can't find it? You're connected to it by a big blue cable???" featured. Somewhere in the middle of all that the Internet radio gave up the ghost and, deprived of pm when I needed it most, I lost it a bit. Inevitably, being the kind of person I am, everything else in the world that was bugging me poured out in a big rush. Regrettably, I wasn't alone.

So, I have learned that I should never tamper with the wifi network when there are other humans in the house. (Limited tampering required tomorrow, which I will try and complete before battle-worn Mr B is awake.)

(The Yosemite upgrade, btw, was a breeze. Except that my Magic Mouse now scrolls upside down. I can probably change that. I'll put it on the list.)

In other news, TallGirl wrote a limerick, and there was much discussion over dinner (duck and risotto) of Aztecs, Incas and Mayans.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.