TMac

By TMac

Musical Musings

“Music is a moral law. It gives soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and charm and gaiety to life and to everything.”
 ~ Plato ~


I spent a very enjoyable couple of hours at the high school this evening seeing the amazing array of young talent.
From solo vocalists, accordion, wind and brass players to violin duets and a "composers corner" where 3 pieces written by young musicians were performed, to string ensembles, brass and wind bands and then to cheery jazz  (I didn't think that was possible!) and pop medleys....with the usual stirring and great fun ukulele orchestra.
I was in awe of the talent, the confidence and the commitment from these youngsters.
I don't have any musical talent whatsoever and once someone asked me why I encouraged my children in music as if it were an odd thing.
Tonight, as ever on these occasions, I can see the reason in front of me.
The camaraderie with their teachers and fellow students shines through.
No doubt the cash could be spent elsewhere but I don't grudge a single penny. 
Tonight Lewis was on keyboards in the pop ensemble (George Ezra and The Beatles), Calum was in the chamber orchestra and both boys were in the string orchestra.
It was easier to isolate Calum for a Blip so, here he is!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.