Sky Water

One of the things that is most exciting about springtime, for me, is the thawing of all of our bodies of water, be they big or small. I am a reflection hound, if there is such a thing. Show me a beautiful sky and I will go looking for water to make a mirror of it. I can't help myself.

Many years ago, I fell in love with the phrase "sky water," which was coined by Henry David Thoreau. When I see water like this, I think of him; and I am reminded of Walden and how he loved it so.

And I suspect that in some ways, we might be kindred spirits, he and I, standing side by side, arms linked across time; watching reflections of clouds moving slowly across the glassy surface of the still waters; seeing heaven everywhere, even in the ground beneath our feet.

The soundtrack: John Lennon, Imagine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.