But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Braid Hermitage.

It is part of my grand plan to do more cycling this year and maybe get back into audaxing. Merlin has put paid to that scheme this week but, being fair, it has been failing all year. For all intents and purposes, it is now a month since I last went cycling, real cycling that is, as I have only been to the shops on a bike  a couple of times  in that period. Today was one of those occasions, I purchased a light-weight rim to build onto a light-weight dynamo-hub to make serious night-time riding a possibility.

My route to the bike shop took me through The Hermitage, it’s a pleasant enough place but the photo opportunities aren’t great. This was the best I could manage; it reallly needs some point of interest to bring it to life, a small boy throwing stones at the burn, for example. As with policemen, there’s never one around when you need one.

Some twenty years ago I designed a spreadsheet to calculate spoke lengths, I do remember the maths involved in the three dimensional geometry presenting some interesting problems, but it did save the expense of buying a commercial computer programme to do the job. All I need now is to measure the rim and hub, get the spokes and start wheel building.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.