But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Sisters.

Today was shopping day, so you don't really want to hear much about that though Mrs TD sent me out while she stayed and looked after Merlin, making sure that he didn't eat anything untoward. The Lad is still a little subdued but, apart from that seems to be o.k. surviving on a diet of antibiotics and indigestion remedies.

Over the last few weeks, I've been reading some books by Robin Whalley on photography, there's quite a range of them, if you have Amazon Prime, they're free and, if you don't, they're a couple of pounds each. The only one that didn't impress was "The Photographer's Coach;" of the rest, there are loads of typos and his grammar isn't always good but, the information is pretty sound; the only significant error that I've found seems to be due to a lack of understanding about diffraction: it is an effect due purely to the physics, while lens design may affect sharpness at small apertures, that phenomenon is completely separate to diffraction aberrations. But these are trivial complaints from the photographer's standpoint and it isn't fair to complain when the books are otherwise good and virtually given away.

Today's blip of these narcissi was taken using my ground spike for the first time, it was a shame to get it dirty when it must have cost me a couple of pounds when I bought it forty years ago; it's actually very effective for low level photography, I wonder why I've never used it before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.