But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Boyne Castle.

After a morning of torrential rain, I finally dragged myself out for a few hours to visit Boyne Castle. Yes, I know: another day – another castle. I was here last summer when it was covered in nettles and I was wearing shorts and sandals. Today it was covered in wild garlic which is far more pleasant, I could actually find the path (which I didn’t know existed) and so was able to avoid clambering over walls and barbed wire fences.
 
It’s a curious place, largely undocumented and situated in a most inhospitable place that no one in their right mind would want to defend. Mrs TD was under the impression that there would be crowds of people visiting but you have to travel to the back of beyond by single track roads before walking across half a mile of (very) rough pasture land and into a small forest that completely hides the castle when there is foliage on the trees.
 
The blip is of one of the four round towers from the inside of one of the others.
 
There is a plaque, difficult to find and high on a wall, warning vandals that they are liable to prosecution, fines and for the costs of repair to cover any damage thay may cause. I find it difficult to conceive of anyone causing damage to this structure.

p.s. I've just noticed that I seem to have celebrated my third Blip birthday. What with one thing and another, it has taken me three years, three and a half months. I feel a bit of a fraud really, particularly as I'm frantically trying to catch up on the last week's entries. Ho hum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.