Jaxter

By Jaxter46

Memorial Gardens

I had a bit of a lucky escape when I went down a dead end road to park on my way into work.  A Romanian lorry, one of those double container ones had obviously taken a wrong turn and got himself stuck as there was nowhere for him to turn. He obviously hadn't seen me and began reversing towards me. I slung the car in reverse and quickly tried to get out of his way, my only option was to reverse around a bend which seemed to be the safest bet even though it was likely I'd hit something as I couldn't see if anything was coming. I was so busy trying to get around the corner I failed to see the traffic bollard in the centre of the road and hit it, as I came to a stop without hitting any other vehical the lorry ran straight over the bollard smashing it to bits. Bit of a heart stopping moment I can tell you. 
Miraculously I didn't damage the car hows that for luck.

Today's blip is the entrance to the memorial gardens, the gates were made in honour of the 110 Holywell men who lost their lives in the two world wars

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.