Hellebore for Flower Friday

Today was a travel day, so I had a quick look around Mum's garden to see what I could see before the long drive home for the Easter weekend (she has way more flowers in her garden than I have in mine!) The delicate colouring of these hellebores caught my eye, so I took a quick photo or two before setting off in the car.
The Easter traffic was heavy but not unbearably so, so we decided there was enough time to head for a nature reserve on the way. The satnav misdirected us (as can happen all too often) and we ended up at the totally unfamiliar but very beautiful old church at Ellingham. The inside of the church was gorgeous and I happily snapped away but as I'm doing the Blipout2015 challenge (outdoor blips only until the clocks change in October), you'll need to look at the results on Flickr, if you're interested in old churches.
Pleased with the unexpected diversion, we once more headed for Blashford Lakes. Life on the lakes was quiet but we still got to see read buntings and greenfinches, cormorants and geese, although the light was too dull for decent photos.
It was lovely to have been able to make the best of the journey and I was so glad that I took an alternative route for the last leg of the journey, avoiding the area where traffic tends to grind to a halt at peak times.

Have a wonderful Easter weekend everyone!

Day 6 of Blipout2015

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.