Easter Bonnets?? Fairy Bonnets, Dennistoun Bush

Here the the bush, Autumn means it's time for fungi. The overnight rain and mild temperatures have combined to bring an explosion of fungi through Dennistoun Bush.

This afternoon, I took a walk round the loop track opposite the house with our visiting friends and their kids. Charlie was wowed by the 1000 year old totara, and was charged with being my main mushroom spotter, which he did with aplomb.

On the way back, I spotted these Fairy Bonnets (coprinellus disseminatus) on a broadleaf trunk. I set my tripod low for this shot and supplemented the low light in the forest with a fast flash in the same direction, subtly lighting up these little parasols.

Our friends have now headed home, leaving behind some happy Easter memories and two exhausted dogs. Good times.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.