101st and 73rd Birthday

Today was my Aunt's 101st birthday. I, and she, can hardly believe it. She said today, "I'm too old to be living." But she is doing well and has had a wonderful life. She shares this birthday with my mom who turned 73. My sister and I both flew into town to spend the big day with them. We went to her house, did some chores for her, and watched her open presents. Then, in a moment of quiet, I got to tell her my big news face-to-face which was wonderful. She heard me right off the first time, even though she can't hear much else. She said "Oh!! Oh!" and was so excited. She said she wondered just the other day if Mr. Apple and I were ever going to have children. Later, before I left, she told me she hopes she lives long enough to see this baby born. I hope she does too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.