Emma D's diary

By EmmaDrabble

At Scarborough: When you wake there's a new day...

I wake bleary eyed, after an enthralling night on the front row of a 4000 strong crowd of a Simple Mind's gig at Bridlington Spa. I can't explain why I was drawn as a teenager to this band, but their music shaped my art school days back then and life beyond. I was rebellious, free thinking person back then. Now shaped by life, work, family and convention Simple Minds are as relevant as ever. Jim steered their back catalogue,  shuffled from "Glittering prize" to the latest song "Big Music" with all the energy I felt so many years ago back in the NEC on the "Street Fighting Years" tour. 

As if I wasn't already captured in the moment and then the lights and pace lowered and slowed for the mediative "Let it all come down". If ever there was a song that gets you from a tough day, a tough time in your life into a brave new day its this one. We have all been there. We have all turned on a song that has helped pull you into the "new day dawning".  I know that Jim, Charlie, Mel and the band must feel the energy of the crowd like the force of the morning tide crashing about in the morning sun down the coast from the gig. A new day dawning, Jim. Certainly. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.