An Eclipse from the Spire...

"Did you get it??", the excited little old lady, with an even littler dog, asked.

"I walk this this walk every morning and have done for far longer than I can remember and I can honestly say, I've never seen anything quite like that! ", she added.

I had to write off yesterday, very soon coming down with a migraine after posting yesterday's "sinister" pre-dawn goings on in front of the cathedral. Maybe this was a punishment or some kind of curse for witnessing and recording the service....

Despite migraine medication zonking me out and rendering me useless, it never did clear completely. No proper food in the flat probably didn't help either, so I basically had to go to bed.

So, at about 5 a.m. when I got up I noticed mist outside the window and the forecast was for early sunshine. A perfect combination and I hadn't been out round the watermeadows for quite a while.

First shot taken at 6.12 a.m., with the full moon still up and shining, last at 8.35 a.m. and some 350 shots inbetween. A photographer's wet dream,. with mist hanging over the meadows and sheep lying in this environment where they would have done for centuries. A big old heron just didn't seem to want to move either.

The cathedral Spire then became got lost in the whiteness. A faint pale disc of orange sun gently made itself known. More shots with either the Sigma 24-70mm f2.8 or Tamron SP 70-300mm VC.

I was moving up and down the perimeter of the meadows and following the sun as it climbed. Mist on the meadows with an early sun is not uncommon and I have caught it a good few times and glorious it looks too!

But for the mist to hang on for so long after sunrise is unusual and I have only seen conditions that I later saw returning via the Cathedral Close once before, one freezing December morning many years ago.

I'm posting this (the only one edited) mostly because of what that nice old lady said but also due to the fact that I actually uttered "wow" to myself when I saw it. I don't do this, I really don't....

I need to get food now that Tesco is open. It needs to be less than a pound though.

So, big huge thanks for all the wonderful and yes, unexpected approval in yesterday's. I do hope to thank you all but after yesterday's misery, and with sun out and glorious blue skies, I might not be able, so a big collective Thank You!

It was quite cold out there still. first thing and so some nice, even warm-ish sunshine would be most welcome. I'll get back to Journals later. Enjoy your Easter Monday too, folks

Lens is Tamron SP 70-300mm VC

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.